“I can break it down in ways you can’t imagine!”: Weird Tales of the Internet-“Stem Cell Rap”


Science is Sexy

 

This marks the second edition in my “Weird Tales of the Internet” and this comes courtesy of Tufts University professor Jonathan Garlick, breaking it down with “Stem Cell Rap” from Youtube.  Now admittedly I found this because I’m avid watcher of G4/TechTV and especially Attack of the Show, but because it’s yet to really become an internet phenomenon, Garlick could use a bit of push into celebrity. While admittedly stem cell research is controversial and, at best, a tad boring, it’s admirable that Garlick (whose rap name is Dr. Jonny Cool J, and admits that he’s been rapping ince the 1980s) decided to try and appeal to younger audiences by literally “breaking it down”. And it’s an instant classic! What with a line such as “I try so hard to treat disease, my brain explodes with stem cell ideas, if you come to my lab I’m in culture all day making tissues while you wait” then it’s obvious Garlick needs to collaborate with Dr. Dre and spin an entire album dedicted to biology. 

Garlick is currently at work on a sequel called “I See Cells” , written to the beat of Sir Mix-a-Lot’s “Baby Got Back”, a song about pathology. 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment